Republic Day in Delhi: January 26 and the commuter

I try to be fair. I try to see both sides, I try to rationalize their actions and tell myself a dozen times that all the inconvenience is GOOD, because it keeps us SAFE.

But in the run up to January 26, Republic Day,  despite my best efforts,  I find myself knotted up with frustration at the elaborate traffic ‘tied-downs’ and ‘this-route-closeds’, not to mention the traffic jams and slow-moving vehicle columns.

Delhi is like that – every year there are times when the threat perception of ‘terrorist activity’, ‘security concerns’ and god knows what else peaks – January 26 is one such time.

That’s when the mortals who must inhabit the city feel the heat. Barricades every few metres, scores of policemen, traffic diversions… a commute that takes three-quarters of an hour on a normal weekday can stretch upto two hours. It is nerve-wracking, and only music keeps one mildly sane.

But as I said, let’s be positive about this. Let’s spare a thought for the police agencies. They have a tough job on hand. If they do their designated duty of keeping the citizens safe, they are bad; if they don’t do it just so nobody is inconvenienced, then they are super bad! So, logically, they opt for doing their duty.

They have long shifts they must get through on the road, and that can be torture. Delhi weather is majestically brutal in all its avatars (more on this in my next post here).

The policemen keep their tempers, and through vehicle snarls, the occasional abuse hurled at them by passing uncouth drivers, they stay calm.

It’s part of their jobs, most people say. I say, they come very close to being supermen and superwomen.

Watch an average Delhi driver on the road through a nasty commute and you will see that driving on Delhi streets is a blue-hued cocktail of motor skills (pun intended) and verbal facility with epithets of the most colorful nature in a variety of Indian languages. The combination is hair-raising.

The policemen on the street is the favorite punch bag; others follow – jaywalking pedestrians (pedestrians have no understanding of either traffic rules or their own safety, and therefore, ‘jaywalking’ is an alien concept); slow moving vehicles in front; a friend who borrowed money. It could be anything – or anyone.

Over the years, I have tried to get around this problem in various ways – working from home, declining invitations for dinners and bonfires, working on a plan to buy a helicopter.

I’ve had varying degrees of success with these self-inflicted suggestions. (My excel spreadsheet and bank statement tell me I can probably buy a helicopter in the next 46 years! My boss assures me that if I work this much from home, I should think of working for the home…). What are my choices, for goodness’ sake?

But for the last couple of years, the Delhi Metro has been my shining steed… it works… it gets me to work on time. It is safe, comfortable – and I can read ten pages of my current favorite author.

Does it get any better than this?

Not in Delhi. Ask any Delhi-ite.

Here is a post I dedicate to the Delhi Metro. http://wp.me/p2t5c7-G

11 thoughts on “Republic Day in Delhi: January 26 and the commuter

  1. There is a police family in our neighborhood, their life’s economic is so lack. Looks like his hard work to the public was not balanced with the income…. it’s not fair.
    Interesting topic MJ.

    Much love,
    mei

    1. Policemen in India too are not very well paid. Their job, on the other hand, demands a lot from them. They can rarely be heard complaining. Perhaps, we need to be more sensitive to their lives… it’s good to know you share my views…:)

      Stay well and have a good weekend. m

      On Fri, Jan 25, 2013 at 9:32 AM, Delhi Baroque

  2. Its so nice of you to spend your time & effort in thinking in a police(wo)man perspective.

    I agree with you that they (police) are most often branded as anti-social, greedy & corrupt; when majority of them are worth a praise for doing the long work hours in an under-paid job.

    Its the decreasing civic sense, patience & humanity, which is a menace on delhi roads.

    PS: I always wanted to write a post ‘for’ the police force but couldn’t find the right words, you did a great job 🙂

    1. Good to know you share my thoughts. We somehow make it out like it is ‘us'(society) versus ‘them’ (policemen) and that is unfair, even mean, I’d think. They too are part of our world and deserving of our thoughts, kindness and consideration.

      thanks for putting down your thoughts here. Go on, write your post for policemen and I will put your link here. 🙂

      have a good weekend!

  3. What an interesting post, and I like the way you have thought from a perceptive of a police women. Like you said, the career prospects for a police man are pretty much non-existence as especially if they get old in the same job. In places like the UK, police officers have a career plan and its regularly (the very least twice a year) monitored and progression is based on merit, hard work and further education in this field. I guess this is not the case in India.

    Nice post and something to think about.

    1. Thanks for stopping by. It’s good to know how the career of a policeman pans out in Britain. In India too, hard work and merit are rewarded certainly, but perhaps, what lacks more than anything else is respect for the person doing his or her job sincerely. That correction in attitude must be done by society… right?

      Have a good weekend there!

  4. I do agree with what you are saying especially reading about “traffic snarls” from the comfort of home…But I can honestly say all these thoughts don’t cross my mind when I’m actually stuck in a jam…
    Yup it’s a thankless job… I can’t imagine whats a holiday for them?

Thanks for stopping by